Black bean soup and fruit smoothies

Sorry, I have been a.w.o.l on the blog.  I decided today that I am really going to try and post something everyday. My thought behind this is that I love to read updates on the blogs I follow and I’m always a little disappointed when I check in with them and see that nothing has changed since the last time I was there, or even longer!
So, here’s a super yummy recipe.  If you like soup, and beans I think you will love it.  I do!  It is based on a recipe that my friend Misty gave me.  I had to make a few changes to fit what I had available but I loved the result and have had a cup everyday, either with my lunch or before supper to help fill me up. 

3 cans of black beans rinsed and drained
1/2 yellow onion, diced
1//2 green pepper, diced
1/2 red bell pepper, diced
1 can of diced tomatoes with juice  (I used the ones that had garlic in them)
1 box (32 oz) of chicken broth
salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cumin to taste 
I also added “Adobo” seasoning   it is a mexican seasoning mix that has garlic, onion, oregano etc.  You can get it with the other spices at your grocery store

Put onions and bell pepper in a large pot and saute about half way through in a little oil.  Pour in everything else and let cook until veggies are tender.  That’s it! 🙂

OK,  I have told you about my love of all things baked.  My mission this weekend it to find recipes for baked goodies that fit into the new healthy eating plan.  I am DYING for cake!!!
In the meantime, I am taking the edge off my sweet cravings with a frozen fruit  and yogurt combo. 

1 package of acai berry pulp (found at grocery store in frozen fruit section.  Abilene folks—HEB has it)
1 small cup of yogurt (I’ve been using vanilla or strawberry Yoplus)
1 to 2 cups of frozen fruit (I’ve tried frozen berries, peaches, and pineapple)
fruit juice or milk–just enough so that your blender will combine all this stuff instead of getting stuck 🙂

Now, this comes out VERY thick.  I eat it with a spoon for breakfast or a snack.  If you want it to be more smoothie like, use thawed (or partially thawed) frozen fruit.

The acai is supposed to give you energy.  I don’t know about that though, I still want a nap every day.

2 thoughts on “Black bean soup and fruit smoothies

  1. I am glad you made another post! I was feeling very disappointed every time I checked your blog for the past few days! Have you ever made the diet soda cakes? You get a low fat cake mix and instead of adding the oil and eggs, you just add one can of diet soda…and bake.My favorite is a yellow cake with diet root beer. Sounds crazy…but its good!

Leave a Reply

