Chili morphed with taco soup

OK, that may be the weirdest recipe title ever!  This started out as taco soup, then I thought no chili, but then it just kind of worked out as a combo.  Took it to work today for lunch and all seemed to like it so I thought I would share.

1 lb ground beef, browned and drained of fat
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can of pinto beans drained
1can of dark kidney beans, drained
1 can of light kidney beans, drained
1 bag of thawed frozen corn or one can of corn drained
V8 juice
salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, and onion powder

Put meat, veggies, and beans all together in large pot.  Mix well.  Add V8 juice.  The quantity on this is up to you, depending on how thick (chili) vs. thin (soupy) you want this.  My was really pretty thick and more chili/stew like than soup like.  Once all combined, add seasonings to taste.  I put a lot of garlic and onion powder–probably 2 to 3 TBSP.  I also added in a small can of mild green chili peppers which did not taste so mild!  Now if you like spicy, that will probably work great for you, but for me and my acid reflux, it is not an addition I will repeat in the future! 🙂 Warm through and serve with tortilla chips and grated cheese. 

One thought on “Chili morphed with taco soup

Leave a Reply

