PJ Day update and Mommy musings

As promised, today was pj day.  We had great weather for the celebration, as it was cloudy and rained a good portion of the day. 
This is how the boys celebrated….

morning
and afternoon.  No, they have not bathed. And yes, those pajamas are coming up on 24 hours of wear time.
This is how Oreo and LuLu celebrated…..
As you can see, the girls choose not to wear pajamas.  They celebrated “au naturel.”
Which leads me to how I spent pj day.  1st, unlike the men that I live with, I bathe daily.  So, I showered and put on fresh “lazy clothes”, i.e. yoga pants and a tee.  I then made all the beds.  Cleaned up the kitchen, loaded the dishwasher and baked a pan of fruit bars.  (recipe posted in the last two weeks).
Then I
did 4 loads of laundry, including folding and putting away!
did all my ironing, which gave me a chance to get through some of my DVR stuff
and cleaned out Evan’s closet.  See the stack of empty baskets/tubs on the floor?  Those were filled with toys.  Now, three trash bags to Goodwill and one bag to the garbage later, you can actually walk into his closet again. 
I also swept floors, vacuumed, dusted my bedroom, and straightened up my closet.  All of which leads me to my mommy musing.  Why can mommies not be still?  No one was making me get any of this done.  I could have spent my day, in my pajamas reading a book.  But there is this inner compulsion that makes me feel guilty if I am not “doing” something.  The only time I ever just sit and watch tv is when I am sick.  Otherwise, I am on the computer, crocheting, in the kitchen, picking up around the house, folding laundry, etc.  I can’t “do” nothing.  The only time I am not trying to do at least 2 things at once is when I am sleeping and then my mind is usually still running so I wake myself up!  And I know most moms are like me.  The other thing I have noticed is that I will put my “should do” list in front of my “want to list” everytime.  For example, I want to sit down and read a book but I should empty the dishwasher.  The dishwasher wins everytime.  Why?  Michael doesn’t do that.  He comes home and wants to watch tv, and that is what he does.  He isn’t bothered by the grass that needs to be mowed or the laundry that needs to be folded. 
I can’t do that.  Just last week, the kids and I had been out running errands, grocery shopping, etc all day.  We got home at 4:00.  I was hot and tired.  I laid down across my bed and thought “I really would like to close my eyes and take a little nap.” My next thought was “I need to get the laundry into the dryer, empty the dishwasher, start supper, run the vacuum, ” etc etc.  And so, I drug my weary self off the bed and into the kitchen.  Because that little voice in my head keeps telling me I need to get something done.  I need to accomplish, be productive. I think that voice needs to shut up!
Leave a Reply

