Kindergarten gives me indigestion

So, if you have been reading my blog for the last few weeks, you know that E started kindergarten.  This has been a difficult change and we are still going through a very rocky adjustment period.  Here are the problems:
1st E is the kind of kid who likes to wake up on his own, lay around in bed for a while, have breakfast around 9 and then about 10 he is ready to leave the house.  School starts at 8 so we have to leave by 7:45–you see my problem
2nd:  if the kids get to school before 8:03 they have to go into the gym and wait for their teachers to come and pick them up.  E HATES the gym.  It is loud, there seems to be no organizational system.  The kids just sit anywhere and wait for their teacher’s name to be called.  E gets totally freaked out by this because he is afraid he is going to get left in the gym.  This is impossible because there are teachers in the gym making sure all the kids get to their respective rooms but E cannot seem to understand this.
3rd:  There is no nap time in kindergarten.  They start at 8, get out at 2:45 and he is EXHAUSTED when I pick him up.  Which means that the less charming side of his personality tends to rear its ugly head at about 2:50.  Today we have been home a little over an hour and he has had 2 tantrums and 1 bout of hysterical crying beause he just can’t decide on a snack. 
All in all, I am finding the morning and evening to be a little stressful and unnerving.  I hate to see him upset and crying but there is nothing I can do to make any of this better.  Is there a solution that I am overlooking?  Please share it with me!
Tracey

3 thoughts on “Kindergarten gives me indigestion

  1. Tracey…oh, how I've been there. :o) E will adjust. It just takes a little time. Honestly, every one of my kids was like this for the first month of school. A nap as soon as they came home helped tremendously. They needed time to decompress, you know? It was so difficult to sit quietly and follow the rules all day long. I'd sit on the couch with them and rub their head or back for a few minutes while they watched a quiet TV show. They'd fall asleep in no time! LOL I worried they wouldn't want to go to bed, but they always were ready to sleep again after dinner. A warm bath at 7, and into bed at 7:30. By 8pm, they were out for the night. I'm a big believer in early bedtimes during the school year. They need a lot of rest to make it through those long days. Sorry for the long post. Good luck! And keep saying, "This too shall pass." :o)Larri at Seams Inspired

  2. Oh my goodness. My boy is in first grade and sounds so very much like your E. We had 1/2 day KG, so this first grade thing is a huge adjustment for him! The other day he asked me, "Who instituted this whole day school thing anyway?"I looked at him and said, "Who taught you the word instituted?" LOL!I will say that I have two older children (a sophomore and a freshman) and it does get better…hang in there ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

