Chili and pumpkin pie recipes

Chili–I don’t know that this is really a “recipe” as much as it is just how I make my chili

2 lbs of ground beef
3 cans of beans: black beans, pinto beans and ranch style beans
1 can of diced tomatoes
1 can of tomato paste
salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder, cumin

Brown ground beef.  Season with salt, pepper, onion, garlic and chili powders and cumin.  I don’t measure these but if I had to estimate I would guess I use about 2 tsps each of salt and chili powder and 1 to 1 1/2 tsp of the others. I buy lean meat (85%) so I don’t usually have to drain fat but if you need to, do so after browning.  Drain and rinse black and pinto beans.  Add these and ranch style beans (with liquid) to beef.  Add tomatoes and tomato paste.  Mix well.  I like mine to be thick but if you like your chili to be more soupy you can add water.  After all ingredients have been added to the pot and mixed together, let simmer for at least 30 minutes so that all the flavors can come together.  Taste and decide if you need to add more seasonings–adjust to your taste.  I serve with grated cheese on top and cornbread.

Pumpkin pie
1 can of pumpkin (not the one with all the stuff already added)
2 eggs
1 can of sweetened condensed milk
2 tsp of cinnamon
1 tsp of nutmeg
1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice
1 premade pie crust.  (I use the pillsbury refrigerated ones that you just unroll and put in your pie plate)

Put your pie crust in your pie plate.  Heat oven to 425.  Mix pumpkin, eggs, milk, and spices together.  Pour into pie crust.  Put pie on a  cookie sheet and pace in over.  Bake for 15 minutes thn turn heat down to 350.  Bake for an additional 45 to 50 minutes.  Chill completely before serving with whipped cream or cool whip.  (I actually prefer Cool Whip—it’s very classic, childhood memory)

One thought on “Chili and pumpkin pie recipes

Leave a Reply

