Sad stuff, silly stuff and thankful stuff

As you can see from the title, I’ve got a lot of STUFF going on today.
First, lets cover the sad stuff.  I’m one of those people that if you ask if I want the bad news or good news first, I always start with the bad so that I can end on a good note.  Anyway, I’ve been hearing lots of bad news lately and just wanted to share some with you, because I know some wonderful people who could use a whole lots of folks praying for them.

  • My friend Wendy’s 2 year old baby girl, Jinger, has been diagnosed with leukemia. Jinger just finished her first round of chemo and is awaiting a bone marrow transplant.
  • My friend Courtney’s father has been battling lymphoma since 2007.  He had been doing great but was just diagnosed with a rare viral infection—which because of the chemo is difficult to treat so he is undergoing some experimental treatment.  And Courtney’s grandmother fell today and broke her neck.  She is on life support currently and the family is hoping that Courtney’s mother will be able to make it home safely from Ft. Worth  (where Courtney’s dad is receiving treatment) to see her mother before she passes.
  • My friend Teri lost her 2 month old nephew yesterday.  I don’t know any other details
  • My mother had surgery for a torn miniscus yesterday
  • My grandmother has ulcers on her legs as a result of her COPD/circulation problems
  • Another friend’s husband has decided he doesn’t want to be married anymore—leaving her a single mom

Thankful stuff
On Veteran’s Day I just want to say thank you to all those who have, and who are, serving our country.  It is often a thankless calling and does not pay near enough.  But I would like to say, on behalf of my family, thank you for your service and for the sacrifices made by your family because of your service. 
Especially,  my dad, my brother in law Reggie, my friend Rebecca’s husband Paul Jones, my friend Rita’s husband David Gonzalez, my friend Terri’s son Matthew Kennedy–rest in peace, my friend Laura’s husband Jeffrey Donhauser, my friend Marilyn’s son David Olson, my friend Angel’s son Remington Whitehead, my cousin Marcus McQuaig, and most especially right now–because he is currently serving overseas–my friend Stephanie Ayala’s husband Rene Ayala.  It is because of people like these gentlemen that our family is able to enjoy freedoms and safety unknown in many parts of the world.  Thank you. 

And finally, silly stuff—
Miss LuLu and I tore through our 1.25 mile walk today, finishing in under 25 minutes.  As a result, I have a blister on my heel and LuLu is once again collapsed on the living room floor. 
E asked me yesterday if LuLu is single.  Yes, LuLu our dog.  Is she single?  Ummm, yeah–I have NO CLUE how, where, or when my child became familiar with the concept of “being single” but I assured him that she was, to which he responded, when would she be getting married.  Yeah, apparently we will soon be planning a doggy wedding, as soon as LuLu gets a boyfriend. 
How is it that (a) when you hear a LOUD crash in the next room when you ask “what was that?” the answer is ALWAYS–“nothing!”  and (b) that no matter what gets broken, spilled, torn, or messed up, no one in the house is responsible.  Hmmmmm……
And on a related note, how is it that there in no one in the room watching the television until I either (a) change the channel or (b) turn it off and then suddenly there are people running into the room yelling “I was watching that!!!  Ummmm…no you weren’t, unless somehow your eyes are detachable and were in the room minus your body. Which actually could be a handy skill once in a while—but that is a post for another time.
Happy Veteran’s Day! 
Blessings,

7 thoughts on “Sad stuff, silly stuff and thankful stuff

  1. Hey there 🙂 I am so sorry to hear about all of the bad news – prayers going out to everyone on your list!As for the sillyness… Oh, jeez. You never know what will happen next with kids in the house, huh?! I run a home daycare, so my days are rather eventful. :)Following from FFF – have a great weekend!KristinBorn 2 Be Mom

  2. Hi there! New follower here! Cute blog, and I will put each and every one of your family and friends in my prayers. Drop by and say hi if you get the chance, thanks! Kimberleyhttp://davisdailydose.blogspot.com/

  3. my goodness that is a lot of stuff, my positive thoughts are with you; what a lot to deal with all at once. I'm happy that you can have some good and bad together though.Here from FFF, happy(ish) weekend!

  4. Sorry about the sad stuff, glad about the good stuff, smiled over the silly stuff. Some days are just not that great. {HUGS}I stopped by after discovering your blog from Monday Mingle blog hop. I would love to have you visit my blogs too!Annahttp://IamNannyAnna.blogpsot.comhttp://TheBabyStorePlus.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

