Stream of concious blogging

Hi! How are you on this fine new year’s day?!  2011!  Is anyone besides me thinking that the year 2000 was just yesterday and now here we are already 11 years into this new millineum?  I read the other day “the days are long and the years are short” and that is so true.  I am amazed by how quickly the year flies by. 

Did you watch the Rose Bowl?  I don’t really care for football (I know—I live in Texas—just saying that that could get me arrested and stoned) but I’m not interested in sports really.  But I am so proud of TCU for beating Wisconsin.  If you saw the game you will know what I mean—those Wisconsin boys were ENORMOUS compared to the TCU boys.  It looked like they had put a Pop Warner team up against an NFL team.  But those horned frogs whooped those badgers.  Good for you TCU!!!!

Today I got a pair of Easy Tone sneakers.  I’ve thought about getting some of these for a while but could not/would not pay $100+ for a pair of shoes I wasn’t even sure I was going to like.  Today however, I found them 75% off!!! so I decided to go ahead and get a pair.  I’ll let you know if my rear and legs start to look like the girls in the commercials.  (Don’t hold your breath though, I have a feeling that those are not 40 year old thighs and cabooses in that commerical) 

The family and I have decided that we are going to make changes to our eating and moving habits this year.  Meaning we are going to eat less and healthier and move more.  I’ll let you know how that goes too.  I’ve been on this quest many, many times but never had the whole family on board with me before, so hopefully this is goign to make a difference for all of us. 

We went to a wedding reception/new year’s eve party last night.  Part of the party was a photo booth.  there were silly glasses, boas, hats, and all kinds of other props you could dress up in or just go in “plain” and take pics. and then we you came out they printed right there on a little photo printer.  It was so cool.  We got some really cute ones that I plan to scan and put up on the blog. 

I decided to take all the pics from 2010 and put them up on the Kodak site and then get a photo book made for the year.  I think this is a great idea.  The only problem–I should have thought of it last January and been uploading each month.  Holy cow–it took me forever to get the pics uploaded.  I ended up with 200+ pics that I put up (and yes, that is after culling the herd, before that I had over 400) I’ll let you know how this project turns out.  Looks like the total cost will be around $45 which I didn’t think was too bad, considering how much it would cost me to print each pic and then get them into albums or scrapbooks.  What do you think?  Is this a crazy idea?

Ugh, I have got lots of lesson plans to write before I go back to work this week.  The kids said that they aren’t ready to go back but I think that they are–they are certainly starting to get a little stir crazy.  And I’m ready for them to go back.  The christmas decorations are all put up, but I want to give the house a good scrub down, and I have those lesson plans to write, and both of these projects will be much more successful if my children are out of the house when I tackle them.

We got C a nook for christmas.  I think it was one of the best presents we have ever bought.  We lucked out and got a super price on black friday at best buy.  He is loving it.  He is a great reader to begin with but he has been reading like crazy the past week.  And he downloaded an app for chess and he is teaching himself to play.  I think that is pretty cool. 

I’m a little obsessed with mah jong.  Yes, I am a 90 year old Florida woman.  I have games on my computer, my new Ipad and my phone.  My husband cannot understand why I like this game.  He says there is no strategy or point to it.  I can’t explain it—I just like it.  In fact, I forced myself to stop playing so that I could post this! 🙂

Hmm…I’m certain that there were at least 5 more things that I was going to talk to you about, but of course, I can’t remember a single one. 

I hope your first day of the new year was a wonderful one.

Blessings!

3 thoughts on “Stream of concious blogging

  1. Oh my do I just love you! Mahjong is one of my favorite games. That and of course Sudoku. However, I even had to download an application on my phone just to play Mahjong. I'm right with you! :)xoxoKatehappy new year .

  2. Well, let me grab my tri-focals and join you for a game of Mahjong. I happen to love it too! I'm very interested in your new shoes. Please let me know if they actually work. DH got a pair of MBT's to help with his neuro problems. Surprisingly, he lost a good bit of his shuffling issues when wearing those shoes. The price is too steep for me just to tone my derriere. :o) I might go for the knock-offs though. Looking forward to reading your posts in 2011. Happy New Year, sweet bloggy friend!

Leave a Reply

