Happy birthday and anniversary to me!

So as of yesterday I am 41 years old and as of today I have been married for 17 years.  Everyone always asks me “Your wedding anniversary is the day after your birthday?”  Yup and no it was not supposed to be that way.  Originally we had planned to get married in March buuut, we wanted to get married in our university chapel in San Antonio.  Well, there are ALOT of people getting married in San Antonio and there are only so many weekends in a month.  So we were having a difficult time coordinating a date between our chapel and our reception site.  Our date kept getting changed and rearranged.  And in between phone calls, when I would get a date open with one place, by the time I would call the other another wedding would have been booked.  Finally, I was just in tears and my husband, then fiance, ended up calling and booking the date–Jan 29th, the day after my birthday.  Beggers can’t be choosers right?  So we got married the day after my 24th birthday.   It has never been a problem.  No, my  husband doesn’t lump the two events together into one.  In fact, if anything, I am more likely to be the one to say not to do anything big since it is so close to Christmas—although I am overcoming this issue! LOL I mean if someone wants to make a big deal out of you, you should allow them to right? 
Mr. G has been out of town the entire past week and didn’t get home until last night, so the plan is for our family to have birthday celebration tomorrow.  But, I wanted to let everyone know how sweet my friends and little students were to me yesterday.  I got so many wonderful hugs and birthday wishes! And each of my sweet classes sang happy birthday to me.  A good friend and her sweet baby boy took me out for lunch.  And I had dozens of wonderful birthday wishes on facebook.  Really, these things made my day more special then any presents or cake.  It is so nice to know how much people love you and care about you.  And, dozens of hugs from super darling kiddos?!  Who’s going to turn that down?!

And on a side note–E and his daddy got to go meet Billy the Exterminator today!!! Little E was over the moon excited about meeting him and getting his autograph.  Here are a couple of pics. 

Have a great weekend!
Blessings,

Leave a Reply

