THIS is what a cupcake should look like

You see these beauties?  Can you see how high they rose above the pan?  Here, let’s take a closer look…

OK, now look closely, I’d say we have close to an inch of height above the cupcake liner.  THAT’S what I’m talking about friends!!!! I don’t know about you, but when a cupcake barely comes up to the edge of the frilly paper liner it just seems to me like you got jipped.  Like you got the reject cupcake of the batch.  A cupcake should have a nice high dome to show off the frosting and the lovely yumminess that is cupcakeness  (yes, I am pretty sure that is a word.)
So I just took these little pink gems out of the oven.  The boys decided we need to have a special meal to celebrate “family LOVE day” E said we should have cake and pie. I told him we needed something other than just dessert so he agreed to “chicken or whatever”  He’s all about the sweets, that boy, just like his mama!
So, I won’t frost these ’til tomorrow morning and I’ll post after pics, but in the mean time, I thought you might want to know the really, really, elaborate and intricate recipe that I used. 
You need:
a white cake mix—I used Betty Crocker because it was on sale this week
some pink food color
1 egg in addition to what the box calls for
a tsp of almond extract
OK, here’s where it gets complicated….mix up the cake mix as directed on the box, except don’t seperate the eggs, just drop them in there yolk and all. It won’t matter anyway, because you are going to make the batter pink in a minute.  Add an extra egg, some pink food coloring, and the almond extract.  I know, I know, this is like culinary school difficult, but really, it is worth it.  You will be the proud baker of lovely pink cupcakes, like the ones above. 🙂
2 thoughts on “THIS is what a cupcake should look like

Leave a Reply

