Ugh, I think I need a vacation

I’m feeling kinda snarky today.  I blame it on a combination of lack of quality sleep, a head full of infectious snot, and kids who feel compelled to try and maim one another. 
Sleep:  I don’t think I can do much about this until (a) I clear up the snot issue and (b) Mr. G’s dad is out of the hospital which means Mr. G is home at bedtime and (c) E moves back into his own bed–he has taken up residence in mine since daddy has not been home at bedtime. 
Infectious secretions:  I called the dr’s office this morning and explained that not only am I not better, but that I indeed feel worse.  I am still waiting for someone to call me back.  Ummmm, yeah, I’m not so good at the waiting so that contributes to the snarky issue.
Children:  I’m thinking I can go with beating them or locking them in seperate closets.  The only thing is that I don’t want to hear the screaming that will ensue with either option.  I’m working on a plan C. 

So, as I was driving home from work and pondering life (yes, I do that sometimes)  I had a thought (yes, that occasionally happens too).  I have spent the better part of my life wishing for something other than what I had—wishing I was thinner, prettier, had a boyfriend, had a different boyfriend, had a better job, had a different job, etc. etc etc. And why?  Why am I wasting all this energy on what I don’t have rather than being happy with what I do have?  Right now my biggest time waster is my appearance.  OK self, let’s face it, I am never going to be a size 2.  It’s just not going to happen.  I just don’t like to exercise that much, I don’t want to spend 1/3 of my day exersicing (nor do I have the time for that), and I really, really like food.  And I don’t want to give up things I like–I don’t want to eat carrots and cucumbers when I really want a doughnut.  And I have I mentioned my love for all things baked?  I just don’t think life is worth living if I can’t have a slice of fresh hot bread, or cake with chocolate frosting.  I don’t want to be vegan or vegetarian.  I don’t want to give up sugar and flour.  I don’t want to give up sweet tea with lemon or creamer in my coffee.  So, what I need to do is be OK with that and the result.  Right?!  Right!!! Now, I gotta go fix tacos for dinner.  LOL
Blessings,

2 thoughts on “Ugh, I think I need a vacation

  1. I think we may be long lost sisters!! I feel the SAME way! I think I might want to be a size 8 (not even a 2!) , but then I think, "Nahhh. I like my Cokes and sweets too much!! Good words!! Thanks for a great reminder.

Leave a Reply

