The Lenten Season–and a veggie recipe for it

You may not know what Lent is or what it means.  Lent is the 40 days between Ash Wednesday and Easter Sunday. Traditionally, (used to be only Catholics but now many demoninations observe)  you give up something during the 40 days.  This sacrifice is symbolic of the sacrifice that Christ made for us.  I will be the first to admit that I have not been what you would call successful with my past Lenten sacrifices. I always start out strong but then soon find all sorts of rationalizations why it is OK for me not to stick with it. This year however a couple of things are working to help me be more determined.  1.  The other day I was listening to Air 1 and they were talking about that when you make your sacrifice, each time you think about doing that thing you are abstaining from, you should pray instead.  And, think about how your small sacrifice is in honor/connection to the sacrifice of Christ.  How can I rationalize and be unable to make this tiny sacrifice when Christ made the ultimiate sacrifice for me?  Really, how can I possibly compare not having a Coke or a piece of chocolate and the discomfort of that with the crucifixion?  2.  I told you about my cholesterol test and the need to lose weight.  The occurrence of these two events at this time, seems like it is a perfect opportunity.  I have decided to give up candy and baked treats.  I am NOT giving up sugar—a girl has to have some indulgences!  So, my new treats are cool whip with fruit, jello with cool whip, and did I mention cool whip?  Fat free and/or sugar free cool whip.   Now, I am on day 2 of my Lenten commitment—-so far so good.  This sacrifice is one that will be good for my spirit and my body—I hope!
Now a recipe!
1 can of black beans rinsed and drained
1 red bell pepper cored and diced
1 bunch of green onions, trimmed and washed and chopped
1 bag of frozen corn
1-2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese
1 package of chopped frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed of excess water
1 tsp each of salt, pepper, garlic and cumin
flour tortillas or tostada chips

Heat 1 TBS of olive oil in  a large skillet.  Add in bell pepper and onion, saute over medium heat for about 3 to 4 minutes.  Add in spinach , corn., beans and spices.  Stir well.  When all is cooked and warmed through, turn off heat and mix in cheese.  When cheese is melted, place filling in tortillas and roll up burrito style.  Place on a cookie sheet or in a baking pan.  Place in oven at 350 and bake until tortillas are slightly crisp. 
OR, you can serve the feeling on top of tostada chips and eat as nachos.  Very tasty!

Leave a Reply

