Menu Planning with new Recipes!!

I am not generally a menu planner.  I have had a few bursts of menu planning in the past but it has not been something that i have stuck with for any length of time.  Last spring, I implemented a plan in which each family member picked a dinner for the week. This gave me four dinners for the week and I didn’t have to think all of them up—-which can be the real roadblock to cooking supper.  And, I think I am going to start doing that again.  But, today, I started roaming around Pioneer Woman’s site and found some very yummy looking things that I want to try and decided this would be a good week to get back to planning out what I am going to cook each week.  Plus, Mr. G is really, really, getting into this Dave Ramsey Total Money Makeover and couponing, so if I plan out what I am going to cook it makes using coupons soooooo much easier.  This is what I’ve got on the menu for this week (I’m not listing days, because I’m not sure what I will make which night but I will have all the ingredients for each recipe)
Baked Lemon Pasta
Sour Cream Noodle Bake
Chicken and Rice
English Muffin Melts (these are make ahead breakfast sandwhichs)
2x baked potatoes and shrimp
Veggie noodle stir fry
(I seem to be relying on noodles alot this week!)
So do you want the new recipes?  Of COURSE you do!  Now, I could be totally lazy and just link the ones I got from the PW website—but I know that sometimes I don’t want to click a link and be taken to another page.  So, just for you, because I like you, I’m typing up the recipes.

Baked Lemon Pasta
1 lb of thin spaghetti
4 TBS salted butter
2 TBS olive oil
2 cloves minced garlic
1 whole lemon, juiced and zested
2 C sour cream
1/2 tsp of salt
grated parmesan cheese
chopped flat leaf parsley
extra lemon

Preheat oven to 350.  Cook noodles to al dente.  In a skillet, melt butter with olive oil over low heat.  When butter is melted add the garlic.  Squeeze lemon juice ino pan and turn off heat.  Add sour cream and stir together.  Add lemon zest and salt.  Taste and add more salt if necessary.  Pour over drained spaghetti and stir together.  Pour into oven safe dish and cover with foil.  Bake covered for 15 minutes.  Remove foil and bake another 7 minutes.  Remove from oven.  Squeeze another lemon over the top/  Sprinkle generously with parmesan and parsley

Sour Cream Noodle Bake
1 1/4 lb ground beef
1 15oz can tomato sauce
1/2 tsp salt
ground pepper
1 bag of egg noodles
1/2 C sour cream
1 1/4 C small curd cottage cheese
1/4 C chopped green onions
1 C grated sharp cheddar cheese or cheese of your choice

Preheat oven to 350.  Brown meat in a large skillet and drain fat.  Add tomato sauce, salt, and plenty of black pepper.  Stir and simer while preparing other ingredients.  Cook noodles al dente then drain.  In a medium bowl combine sour cream, cottage cheese, some pepper, and green onions.  Add to noodles and stir.  Then you can either lasagna style—-noodles, sauce, grated cheese in a baking pan or mix sauce and noodles together pour into baking pan and top with cheese.  Bake for 20 minutes. 

Breakfast muffin melts
1 doz hard boiled eggs, peeled and chopped
2 C grated cheddar cheese
1 C mayo
12 slices of bacon cooked and crumbled
1 heaping TBS of dijon mustard
1/2 tsp of garlic powder
3 dashes of worcestshire sauce
6 english muffins split

Combine all ingredients (except muffins) and fold together gently.  Cover and store in the fridge overnight.  Spread on English muffin halves.  Place on a baking sheet, place in the lower half of your oven and broil for 3 to 5 minutes until hot and bubbly.  Serve immediately.  The muffins can be pre-assembled, covered with plastic wrap and popped in the oven the next morning.

BONUS RECIPE!!!!
Tastes like a doughnut muffins
1 3/4 C flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/3 C oil
3/4 C sugar
1 egg
3/4 C milk

Topping:
1/4 C melted butter
1/3 C sugar
1 TBS cinnamon

Combine dry ingredients.  Combine oil, sugar, egg, and milk.  Add dry ingredients to wet and stir just until combined.  Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes.  Melt butter in a bowl.  In a seperate bowl mix sugar and cinnamon.  Dip hot muffins in butter then roll in cinnamon sugar mix. 

Leave a Reply

