Miscellaneous, meandering, mindless Monday

What’s going on in your world today?  Nothing much here.  This morning I baked some muffins and coffee cake to take up to work tomorrow.  I had new recipes I wanted to try but the family and I can’t eat all this (and shouldn’t eat all this) so my friends at work are my guinea pigs.

The muffins are the “taste like a donut” recipe that I posted the other day from the Pioneer Woman website. 
The coffee cake is AMAZING!  If you like coconut, you have to try it! More about that to come
I’ve been cleaning house this morning.  In the process of cleaning  off the countertops in my kitchen, I hung up my lemon wreath.
This is the door that goes from our house into our garage, i.e. our front door.  Like most families this is how we get in and out of our house, so I thought it would be a great place to hang the lemon wreath.
Buuuut, when I was putting the hook up, I noticed how nasty the door was…
I know it is hard to see, but there are nasty handprints and marks all over it.  Praise to the inventor of the Mr.Clean sponge!
I also, decided to put my storage jars here
yes, that is candy and oreos. I have NOT indulged in them since I started Lent.  But, I do have a fondness for cherry and blackberry nutri grain bars—so that jar I open alot!
 

I got this recipe from The Red Spoon
Phyllis’s Toasted Coconut Brown Butter Bread
Adapted from Phyllis in Hana Hawaii
Makes two 1 pound loaves, or one 2-pound loaf
After much debate, we finally decided that the toasted with brown butter slightly (very slightly) edged out the others, which is the recipe below. To make the original Phyllis coconut bread, do not toast the coconut, and do not brown the butter, just melt it.

1 1/2 stick of butter
3/4 cup sugar
4 eggs
2 cups flaked coconut, divided
1 tablespoon vanilla
2 cups pureed pineapple (pineapple chunks and their juice blended until smooth)
2 3/4 cups flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons brown sugar

Preheat oven to 350-degrees. Spread 1 cup of the coconut on a rimmed baking sheet and toast in oven until golden brown, 6 to 8 minutes stirring every few minutes. Remove from oven and set aside.
In a small sauce pan over medium heat cook butter until chestnut brown and smells nutty.
In the bowl of a stand mixer combine, brown butter and sugar and mix together. Add eggs one at a time until incorporated. Add coconut and vanilla. Mix thoroughly together. Add pineapple puree and beat until combined, scraping down bowl as needed. Add flour, baking powder and salt, mixing just until incorporated.
Grease a loaf pan with butter or Pam and place on a rimmed baking sheet. Pour batter into pan (or divide between pans if using a 1-pound loaf pan). Sprinkle with brown sugar, and then reserved toasted coconut. Loosely tent pan with foil, making sure there is plenty of room for the bread to rise. Bake for 45 – 60 minutes or until the loaf does not wobble. Let cool in pan for 20 minutes, then remove from pan and let cool until room temperature. Slice and serve.

NOTES FROM TRACEY:  I did not brown the butter (my family and I do not care for the taste of browned butter) and I did not toast my coconut before I added it to the top.  I baked my bread in a 9×13 pan so mine came out as more of a coffee cake.  I sprinkled the coconut on top and baked it without the foil until the coconut was brown and toasty.  Then when I thought it was toasty enough and didn’t want it to burn, I laid a sheet of foil on top of the pan.  I did not wrap the foil around the pan, just laid it on top.  I used a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks and when I blended it up I had about 2 1/2 C of puree.  Also, the recipe says to divide the coconut.  I didn’t even measure mine.  I just sprinkled coconut into the batter til I thought like it looked like enough and then did the same thing on the top of the cake.  OH MY GOSH!!! It is soooooo good!  Don’t eat it warm.  Let it sit a bit and the give the flavors times to settle. Yum, yum, yum, and YUM!!!
4 thoughts on “Miscellaneous, meandering, mindless Monday

  1. Love your blog!Hiya! Newest follower from the Mom Blog Monday Hop– please stop by and say hello! Would love if ya followed back!♥cyn♥http://cyn-thenutshell.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

