Sometimes God just makes me laugh

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff that’s getting to me lately
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
But I gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use
To break me of impatience
Conquer my frustrations
I’ve got a new appreciation
It’s not the end of the world

More lyrics: http://www.lyricsmania.com/this_is_the_stuff_lyrics_francesca_battistelli.html
All about Francesca Battistelli: http://www.musictory.com/music/Francesca+Battistelli

Have you heard this song?  (If you haven’t it is called This Is the Stuff by Francesca Battistelli)  It is sooooo true.  How many times a day do we lose our temper over something not going our way?  How many times do we get impatient because the car in front of us is too slow?  Or our kids aren’t moving fast enough?  How many times a day do we get frustrated over something we misplaced?  And truly, how often is this thing that we think is sooo important, that we are allowing to take over our thoughts and emotions, that we are pitching a fit over, how often is really important?  Not often.  Almost never.  Humbling isn’t it?  I’m betting, that like me, you are blessed with more than enough.  You have more than enough clothes, more than enough food, more than enough money.  You aren’t homeless.  You weren’t just struck by the double whammy of an earthquake and a tsunami.  And yet, at least once a day, you and I forget “how big we’re blessed.”   The first time I heard this song I thought “oh my gosh!  this is about me”  and it is.  It’s about all of us. 
I have a friend whose 2 year old has leukemia.  And EVERY SINGLE TIME she posts an update on Facebook she thanks God for the blessings and the healing and the prayers and the support. EVERY SINGLE TIME
And what’s my biggest problem today?  I have a blister on my foot from the flip flops I wore to work.  My husband’s out of town so I had to get up 30 minutes early to get the kids to school and me to work on time.  My grass needs to be mowed and my laundry put away.  The dog and the cat shed all over all the time, and my floors need to be swept.  Yeah, I think that qualifies as a “little mess.”
So I am working toward not getting frustrated when the check out line is going to slow and instead using that time to thank God that I have the money to pay for what I and my family needs.  Instead of being irritated by other drivers, I’m working to appreciate that I have a car to get me where I need to go.  In the morning, instead of getting grumpy that the kids are getting ready for school fast enough, I’m going to work on being grateful for their health and that they can attend school.  Instead of griping about the laundry and the cleaning, being glad that I have a home and a place to wash my clothes—and clothes to wear. 
This is the stuff!
Blessings,

3 thoughts on “Sometimes God just makes me laugh

  1. Love the song since the first time I heard it a couple of months ago. I sing it all the time. LOL! I have a pile of laundry staring me in the face. The dog is laying on the couch snoring and passing gas. Life is crazy fun. Happy Wednesday! :o)

Leave a Reply

