My version of the chocolate eclair cake

I had seen a recipe for chocolate eclair cake on a blog about a month ago.  I wanted to make it but didn’t have an event, and I don’t need to make something this big for the four of us because the chances are good I will eat waaay more of it than I should. So, I have a clothes swap I am going to tomorrow and thought this was a good opportunity to try it out.  The recipe I saw called for a graham cracker crust.  Now, graham cracker does not say eclair to me so I wanted to swap that out with puff pastry. 
I laid it out on a cookie sheets and baked it

Here it is just out of the oven next to my vanilla “custard”

I pressed the pastry down with the back of a fork and then poured the vanilla pudding over it.  I used a large box of vanilla jello pudding (the cook version) but instead of milk I used half and half for a richer taste.  That’s just how I roll.  🙂

Then I baked up another two sheets of puff pastry, put them on top and pushed them down with the back of a fork.

Then I made a simple vanilla glaze (2 C powdered sugar, a pinch of salt, a splash of vanilla and 2-4 TBS of HOT water) and poured it over the top

Next the plan was to drizzle hershey’s syrup over the top.  Buuut apparently those kids I live with used the last of it and didn’t tell me.  No worries, I popped some hot fudge ice cream topping in the microwave for 30 sec then smeared it over the top. 
Now THAT’s a giant chocolate eclair!

One thought on “My version of the chocolate eclair cake

  1. OH. That looks AMAZING!!! Look at you–that was genius to use puff pastry, instead of graham cracker crust. I bet it was really yummy. I wouldn't know…since I'm just LOOKING AT IT on the computer. Sigh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

