Some goals achieved!

A few days ago, I posted a pic of the inside of my fridge.  That day, I cleaned out my pantry, 3 cabinets, and 2 drawers so I never got to the fridge.  Well today I did

It stayed this way for 1 1/2 hours, then Mr. G. spilled juice inside.  ((sigh)) there are no words…

the first pic shows the layers as I began stacking them.  I used two white cake mixes and divided them into 6 bowls and dyed each a different color.  I baked them in 9″ pans.  the layers were thin but not as thin as they probably needed to be because this cake was TALL.  You can see in the second pic that I started inserting bamboo skewers to keep the layers from sliding around.  I made a cream cheese frosting (1 block of softened cream cheese, 1 stick of softened butter, a splash of orange juice and powdered sugar until the correct consistency for spreading.)  I had to make two batches of frosting to do the whole cake.  The 3rd pic shows it finished and the last shows the inside.  It tasted very good, it looked very cool, but it is definitely a special occasion cake beacuse of the time and the size.  Evan said next time I should just do rainbow cupcakes. 
Next up, we are going to make a red, white, and blue cake for 4th of july!
2 thoughts on “Some goals achieved!

  1. LOVE it! LittleGirl loves it too. She just skated by (seriously…she's roller skating in the house!) and she pushed down her stopper to take a peek at your fabulous cake. Thanks for sharing. I'm inspired to create a little cake magic now. ☺ Happy Monday! ☺

  2. Oh My. I am a sucker for cake…especially a cake I don't have to make. =0) Sure wish we lived closer, because I would be over in a heartbeat!! Looks yummy!!!! =0)

Leave a Reply

