What do you think is awesome?

Before you answer, I need to explain what I mean by awesome.  I don’t mean “That is like totally awesome, fer sure.”  I mean full of awe or inspiring awe. 
Several years ago, Mr. G and I went on a cruise.  One of the excursions that we took was to a sand bar where we got to feed sting rays by hand , pet them, have them swim around our legs, etc.  This was an awesome experience for me.  It was just completely amazing and awe inspiring to me to be able to experience these animals in such an up close way. 
I mentioned the other day how awesome I think jelly fish are and how they also are fascinating and amazing to me.  When I see animals like this I am filled with awe.
(Are you thinking yet “umm, where is she going with this topic?” , I’m getting to it right now)
This morning I was listening to the radio and they were giving away a mission trip to Africa.  And when I heard that I thought “that would not be a prize I would want to win.”  And, it may not be for the reason you think.  I know several people who make annual mission trips.  A couple of friends travel to Haiti, another to Brazil, a few to Guatemala, and one goes all over the world multipled times a year. And I think that is awesome!  I am in awe of these people who are able to put their “regular” lives on hold to go across the world and help others.  I love to hear about their trips.  I love to be able to contribute money or supplies, or just prayers to aid them in their mission.  I admire what they are doing.  But I don’t want to go.  And it is not because I don’t believe in the cause, or I don’t want to go without my daily creature comforts, or get a passport, or vaccinations.  I don’t feel called to do that.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I have certainly had my Abraham moments, meaning I felt like God told me to pack up and start walking (even though I really need a well thought out plan complete with rest stops and final destination) and I did it despite my reservations.  But I don’t feel that God has ever asked me to “go to Ninaveh”.  And I know, that for my friends anyway, that they have a very distinct feeling that they are called/meant to go into the mission field.  And I don’t .  And I am completely OK with that.  I think, I hope that I am fulfilling my purpose right here in my little place.  I think I am right where I am meant to be, doing what I am meant to do. and I gotta say–I feel pretty good about it. 
I hope you are in a good place, a meant to be place, too.  🙂
Blessings!

One thought on “What do you think is awesome?

Leave a Reply

