Ash Wednesday is the beginning of Lent

Depending on your religious affiliation, you may or may not be familiar with Lent.  Basically, for the next 40 days, between now and Easter, the idea is that you make a sacrifice to draw you closer to God.  No, I don’t mean that you set up an altar and go get you a lamb and a big knife.   I mean that you give up something that you enjoy as a way sharing the pain and sacrifice of Jesus.  Lots of people give up things like coffee, sweets, soda, etc.  A friend and her husband are giving up meat and are making their kids give up yelling and name calling.  (I think that is AWESOME!!!)  Anyway, you “suffer” through Lent as Jesus suffered for our sins.  A few years ago though, I heard a priest speak about instead of giving up something during Lent to instead DO something, for example read the Bible daily, do the rosary daily, work at the food pantry once a week, etc.  Doing these types of things, he said, can still be considered a sacrifice in that you are giving time that you would spend doing something else that you might find more enjoyable (at least initially).  BUT, a happy effect of this might be that you develop a new positive habit/routine because of this sacrifice.  I like this idea a lot.  In my experience, when giving up something for Lent, it becomes all about counting down the days until Lent so that you can go back to whatever you cut out.  To have a Coke, or a cup of coffee, or a piece of chocolate. 
So, although Lent begins today, I am still thinking about what I want to do for Lent.  I would love to hear what you will be doing.  Give me some ideas. . .

Blessings friends,
Tracey

One thought on “Ash Wednesday is the beginning of Lent

  1. Hey! I just thought I'd update you about our Lenten sacrifices. After one day of the kids informing me of all the times their siblings were slightly yelling or whatever, I changed it. I said, instead of focusing on what we were giving up, we'd focus on what we're doing, so we're choosing kindness. I told them, when it is hard, and you don't want to be nice to your sibling, you can choose to be kind because you're choosing to be kind for Jesus's sake, rather than for them. It is better, but it is still not as "easy" in some respects as just giving up meat – because that is so cut and dried. But, it kind of goes along with what you were saying about what you are doing instead of what you are giving up. See you mañana!

Leave a Reply

