the countdown begins….

I counted this morning, the boys had 48 days of school left. That is kind of unbelievable to me.  Just guessing, before I counted, I thought it was about 60 or 70.  Nope, 48, a month and a half of actual in school days.  And I only have 35 days left.  Wow!!!  I told the boys that I would make them a countdown chart of some sort.  This is what I came up with…..

This is the bulletin board over by the door that comes into the house from the garage, i.e. the door we enter and exit the house from.  I used my Sizzix and cut out all the stars and then just wrote the numbers on them.
On day 24, I let them know that they were 1/2 way there.
And then, finally, the BIG day!!!  I’m going to let them take turns removing a star each day.  Something about having a visual countdown makes the days semme to go faster.  It’s a good theory anyway.  🙂
Tonight for dinner we had the mini taco bites that I linked up yesterday.  Sort of.  I bought corn tortillas at the grocery store.  The ones that I get are more like homemade, they are thicker and softer than the usual corn tortiallas. I used my biscuit cutter and cut three rounds out of each tortilla.

Then I laid them out on a parchment lined cookie sheet.  I spread a little bit of fat free refried beans on each tortilla and then topped with shredded chicken. 

Then I stuck them in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes.Pulled them out and topped with shredded cheddar, back in the oven for about 10 minutes to melt the cheese.  Served them with a simple salad of just chopped lettuce and tomato.  Definitely would make again. 

Sorry, I know this isn’t the best or most appetizing pic of the final product.  I forgot to take a final product pic.  I was already packing up the leftovers when I remembered. ;{)
Blessings friends,
Tracey
One thought on “the countdown begins….

Leave a Reply

