How have I never posted this?

I’ve told you before that mr. G plants a large garden every year. Which means at about this point in the growing season it is squash-a-palooza around here. If I know you, and you are within ten miles of my house the chances are pretty dang good that you are going to get a bag full of squash. Or, zucchini bread…which is what is in the works today. I was scrolling thru my old entries looking for my recipe and much to my surprise I found that I had not posted it. I cannot believe it! Because this is an annual occurrence at our house. So I MUST share the recipe with you, plus that way if I lose my written copy (as I may or may not have done in the last) I will still be able to find it on here. Zucchini Bread 3 eggs 1 cup of canola or veg oil 2 cups of sugar 3 cups of flour 1 tsp of baking soda 1 tsp of baking powder 1 tsp of salt 1 tsp of nutmeg 1 tsp of cinnamon 3 cups of zucchini, grated 3 tsp of vanilla First, grate your zucchini. I run my thru my trusty food processor. My sister in law uses her salad shooter. You use whatever makes you happy. Set zucchini aside. second, measure all your dry ingredients together into a large bowl and then give them a stir with a fork. Third, measure sugar, oil and eggs into mixing bowl and mix until golden and creamy. Just a minute or two. Fourth, add the three cups of z and the vanilla. You MUST measure the z. Too much will make your bread gummy. Fifth, pour in al the dry ingredients and mix well so all is incorporated. At this point you can mix in a cup or two of mini chocolate chips. The boys and I like this addition but Mr. G hates it so I don’t often do it, or do one loaf with and one without. Spray two loaf pans with Pam and then pour your batter in, fill each pan about half way. If you have a large pan you may only have enough batter for one loaf. My pans are medium I guess, and I get two loaves from one recipe. Or you can use mini loaves. Bake at 375. Time will depend on the size of your pan. A large loaf or bundt pan takes a full hour maybe a bit more. Mini pans are about 30 minutes. My pans take about 45 minutes. Check for doneness by poking a toothpick in the center just like a cake. And that’s it. Let me know if you try it and how it comes out Blessings friends, Tracey

2 thoughts on “How have I never posted this?

  1. I've been roasting squash and zucchini and it is so delish! I just saw these zucchini boats on Pinterest that I can't wait to try – you put little grape tomatoes and parmesan cheese on them. They sound so good! If you're out and about you can leave some of that abundance at the church, and I'll pick it up! Or we live right by Red Bud if you're in the area! But no zucchini bread! We're still on our Body for Life challenge and that would tempt me beyond belief! Sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

