A two for one deal

I have a little how to for you today but first I have to be all braggy mom.  Every year, the local fire department does a poster contest for all the elementary schools.  Every second grader in town, both public and  private schools, competes.  The kids have to draw a poster about the theme for the year.  This year’s theme was “how to prevent fires at home” There are 19 elementary schools that participated in the contest.  And my lil’ E won for his school!  Tonight was the awards ceremony. 

Here’s the lil’ artist with his winning drawing.

 
 
And this would be the “mom, can you quit with the pictures now?” face

 
And here is the award winning drawing “Clean your dryer, prevent a fire!”

And look at the super cool award he won….a new bike!

This was the award presentation, here he is with the fire chief and assistant chief
 
 
 
Here is the group pic.  Yes, that is my child hiding behind the red bag on the bike

 
Here he is with his lovely teacher.  It was so nice of her to take time out of her evening to come!

Now, that we are home, I can get a smile out of him.
 
 

 
Do you think he looks a little proud…and excited?   He even rolled the bike into the house so that he can “really look at it”
Now on to today’s project.  It has gotten chilly here so we had to go with some soup and grilled cheese.

Tomato Basil Soup
Recipe adapted from: The Novice Chef

2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 large yellow onion, chopped
6 cloves garlic, minced
3 (14 ounce) cans Hunt’s Fire Roasted tomatoes
2 cups chicken stock
1/2 cup half and half
20 fresh basil leaves, chopped
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions: In a heavy bottomed pot, over medium-high heat, pour in the olive oil and saute onion until translucent. Add chopped garlic. Saute with onion another 2 minutes.

Add the cans of fire roasted tomatoes (including the juice) to the pan and cover for about 15 minutes, stirring as needed. Add the chicken stock, and half & half. Bring to a simmer. Cook uncovered, for another 10 minutes or until it thickens slightly.

Stir in the chopped fresh basil and salt and pepper. Lower heat to medium-low and cook another 5 minutes.

 
 
NOTE from TRACEY:  I sauteed my onions and garlic in a skillet then I dumped them and the tomatoes and stock into my crock pot.  I put it on low and let it go for about six hours.  Then I ran the immersion blender through it.  Added the cream, basil, salt and pepper.  Let it go for about 30 more minutes then I served it in mugs with parmesan on top. 
 
For the grilled cheese, I used fresh mozzerella.  I would probably use sliced provolone next time.  I loved the gooey stringy-ness, but the cheese had a lot of water in it because it was fresh and so the bread got a little squishy.  Plus, I should have put a sprinkle of salt on the cheese.  All told though—–yummy!

One thought on “A two for one deal

  1. awwwww -that is fantastic! And yes he looks happy and proud and he should be. 🙂 That meal is what I needed tonight. It is been chilly here and I love it!

Leave a Reply

