Education? Or a really good sale?

Twice a year there is a really great consignment sale here in town.  Women’s clothes, accessories, shoes, and bags.  There is also funiture, linens and all manner of home decor stuff.  This is one of my favorite sales!  I have consigned before but never worked.  This year, since I am not teaching, I was able to volunteer to work.  I spent the last two days working the set up of the sale.  The advantages of this are great!  I get to see the awesome stuff that is coming in, I get my consigner fees waived, I get 70% of my sales, AND I get to shop EARLY!!! That is the biggest perk because then I get a better chance to snag the cool stuff I’ve scoped out during set up.  But of course there is a drawback—my early shopping time is at 3:00.  Yes, 3:00 when my kid gets out of school.  Sooooo, I’m thinking that I should pick him up early so that I can go shopping.  I figure I can use it as a lesson in budgeting, economics, and math.  🙂

On another subject, the big kid has first academic meet this Saturday.  His school is hosting this month so his teacher/coach had sent an e-mail out to the parents asking for volunteers.  She also asked people to donate breakfast foods for the hospitality room that they set up for the coaches.  I had e-mailed back and offered to bring some muffins and a breakfast casserole.  This morphed into me being in charge of the hospitality room and making sure all the food and drinks are organized and out for the breakfast and lunch.  So, today I am sharing the recipe for the muffins I am baking. 

Rise and Shine muffins

1 1/4C sugar
2 1/4 C flour
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp all spice
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 C grated carrots
1 C dried cranberries or raisins
1/2 C crushed pineapple
1/2 C coconut (opt)
1 large apple, peeled and diced (opt)
3 lg eggs
1/2 C oil
2 tsp vanilla

Mix everything together.  Pour into muffin tins.  Bake at 350 for 30 min.  Made about 1 1/2 doz.
Photo: Rise and shine muffins and cinnamon pumpkin coffee cake for tomorrow's math meet.

I made two batches.  Both had carrots, craisins and pineapple.  One had apple and one had coconut.  I preferred the coconut ones.  Feel free to mix and match the add ins to suit your taste.  I think they might be good with a little bit of grated zuchinni too.  And I bumped up the spices too. 

Blessings friends!
Tracey

Leave a Reply

