I am steaming my ear

No, I did not write that incorrectly.  No, you did not read that incorrectly.  Yes, it really does say “I am steaming my ear.”  I have been sick for 13 days.  And part of this sickness includes fluid in my left ear.  And it hurts.  I’ve already had a steroid shot, an antibiotic shot, and a Z pack.  And it still hurts. It’s a good thing, that while I am not a doctor, I play one on the computer.  So I took to the web to google home remedies for fluid in the ear.  The recommendation was moist heat.  I wrapped a damp towel around a heating pad and put my ear on it.  I haven’t noticed any improvement.  The next move is drops made of a 50/50 combo of vinegar and alcohol.  Scintillating info….I know you are spellbound.
In other news, the boys and I are staying in tonight.  We had a tasty meal of Olive Garden lunch leftovers.  We watched The Strange Life of Timothy Green.  Next up is Brave.  I plan to be in bed by 10.  This is what happens to New Years Eve when you have kids and you are over 40. 
In the past week and a half, I have read……7 books.  It is amazing how much time you have to read when you are traveling.  And when you are sick.  I have read…

The Forgotten Garden
The Distant Hours
The House at Riverton
The Bloodletter’s Daughter
The Secret Keeper
The Silent Girl
Death Cloud

I’ve liked all of them.  If you are a Downton Abbey fan, the House at Riverton is reminescent.  The Forgotten Garden, the Distant Hours, and the Secret Keeper are by the same author–Kate Morton.  The Bloodletter’s Daughter was one of the 2.99 Kindle specials over Christmas but I really liked it.  It was based on a true story and very interesting.  Silent Girl is a Rizzoli and Isles story from James Patterson and Death Cloud is a book that C wanted me to read.  It is a Sherlock Holmes story–but Sherlock is a teenager.  It was OK, but I probably wouldn’t have chosen it for myself.  Now, I’m looking for my next book.  Anyone have any recommendations?  Read anything good lately?

Blessings friends!
Tracey

Leave a Reply

