What’s cookin’ today….

We are supposed to get a lot of rain in the next 24 hours.  I hope that it is true because we really, really need it.  And cold, wet, nasty weather calls for soup!  I found this one on Pinterest and I changed it some.  Here is the original link tortellini soup
Now this is what I did:
I bought a pound of ground, mild Italian sausage instead of the links.  I browned the sausage and put it in the crock pot.  I bought Boutoni tortellini.  I had to buy two packages because the recipe called for a pound and one package was only 9 ounces.  I tossed in the tortellini, two cans of diced tomatoes, the chicken broth and the spinach.  I also added half of a red pepper, finely diced and the green tops of green onions, also diced.  Then you put it on low for 5 to 6 hours.  I did not add the cream cheese.  I didn’t want a creamy soup, I just wanted a broth based soup.  After a couple of hours I gave it a stir and tasted the broth to make sure that I didn’t need to add salt or anything.

Then I baked these… chocolate mint chip cookies  The recipe doesn’t call for any eggs.  The batter is VERY thick and stiff and when my cookies baked they didn’t look at all like the pics from the recipe.  They didn’t look smooth when they baked.  They looked kind of lumpy so I think the next time I bake them, I think I will add an egg or two to smooth out the batter a little bit. 

Blessings friends!!!
Tracey

Leave a Reply

