2 posts in one day!

I KNOW, isn’t it exciting?!?!?!?!  I’m going to get my fractured tooth extracted later this afternoon.  I feel certain that you will want to know all the gory details, so I plan on sharing that with you later.  Be sure and come back this evening! You won’t want to miss it!

In the meantime, I am really getting into the groove of this cold, rainy weather.  I drop the kids off.  Come home for coffee and breakfast. Do my exercise for the day.  Then listen to my podcast Bible study while I prep dinner for the evening.  Today I have made manicotti and banana cupcakes that I am going to ice with peanut butter frosting.  Yes, it sounds wonderful!

Manicotti
This is actually really simple.  I bought one box of manicotti shells.  Boil 1/2 of the box at a time.  My box had 14 shells in it, so I cooked 7 at a time.  They cook for about 7 minutes.  Take them out and drain them well and let them cool.  While they are cooking, take one container of low fat cottage cheese.  I buy the low fat because it has less liquid in it.  mix the cottage cheese with one egg, 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/2 tsp of pepper, and 1 tsp of dried basil.  Stir it up well.  in a 9×13 baking dish, spread some of your sauce.  I use my homemade sauce that i make in big batches and freeze.  You can get the recipe here.  Hold one manicotti shell in your hand, and use a small spoon to scoop up your cottage cheese and fill the shell.  When full, lay the shell in your baking pan.  After filling all the shells, pour the reamining sauce over the top then top with mozzarella.  Cover with foil and bake at 350 until warmed through.  In the last 5 minutes or so take the foil off so that the cheese can get all bubbly and brown. 

For the banana cupcakes. 
I used my fave banana cake/bread recipe it.  You can find the recipe here. 
Then for the peanut butter frosting:
1 stick of softened butter
1 C of peanut butter (I use creamy but you go with what you like)
2 C of powdered sugar
1 tsp of vanilla
Mix it all up in with your mixer.  Yummy!

For Jocelyn:  We do make pizza ALOT!! Usually for the kids I make sausage because that is their fave.  For the Mr. and I, I do margherita (tomato and basil) or veggies (mushroom, tomoato, spinach, bell pepper) and I always use fresh basil.  When I make my pizza dough I usually add in a little garlic powder and sometimes some dried basil too. 

Blessings friends!
Tracey

Leave a Reply

