A Pandemic Epidemic

Did you have a flu shot?  Have you gotten the flu? Do you know anyone who has the flu?  Have you seen the 100 million stories on the news about the flu? 
None of us, the four people that live in our house, have had the flu shot.  It is not that I want any of us to get the flu or that I am opposed to the flu shot.  I am opposed to going to the doctor’s office to get the flu and thereby catching something else in the process.  My skin truly crawls when I have to sit in a doctor’s office this time of year.  And I am not particularly germaphobic, but I just can’t help thinking about the innumerabale bacteria and viruses floating around in the waiting room “soup.”
ICK!!!
So, since we haven’t be innoculated, I went and got Lysol and Chlorox wipes and I am going to make them a regular part of my dail routine.  Now I usually go thru and wipe down all the light switches and door knobs, remotes, phones, etc. whenever someone in the house has been sick.  But, with the flu pandemic epidemic I guess I’ll be doing a wipe down daily for awhile. 

What I made today…
I tossed some chicken breasts in the old crock pot today and dumped a cup of fresh salsa and a cup of cilantro pesto on top.  Cilantro pesto is just cilantro, garlic, olive oil, lime juice and salt run thru the food processor.  I had only used 1/2 last time I made it so I had frozen the other half.  Crock pot on high for 8 hours (my chicken was on the bone and still frozen).  about 6 hours in, I took out the bones and skin and then let the meat finish cooking down in the liquid.  Served the shredded chicken on corn tortillas with chopped lettuce, tomato, black beans, shredded cheddar cheese and a little guacamole. 

Apple Sauce Spice Cupcakes/Muffins

2 C of flour
2 tsp of cinnamon
1 tsp of nutmeg
1/2 tsp of ginger
1/2 tsp of cloves
1/2 tsp of allspice
1/2 tsp of salt
1 tsp of baking soda
6 TBSP of coconut oil (or you can use a stick of softened butter)
1 C of sugar
1/2 C of brown sugar
1 1/2 C of apple sauce
2 eggs

Mix the flour, spices, salt and baking soda together and set aside
Cream the coconut oil and sugars together.  (coconut oil is supposed to be a healthier fat then butter, so I used the coconut oil) Add in the applesauce.  Mix in the dry ingredients.  Mix in the eggs.  Spoon in to cupcake pans.  (I got 16 out of one batch)  Bake at 350.  Mine baked for about 20 minutes.  These are yummy.  Even warm—and I think they will be even tastier once they have set for about 24 hours. 

And!!! I made a new batch of peanut butter frosting but instead of peanut butter I used—–are you ready for it?  Cream Cheese!!! Now, I am a firm believer that sour cream and/or cream cheese makes everything better and in this case—OH MY WORD!!!!!! Tasty goodness!!! Now I just have to wait for my bananas to turn brown then it is banana peanut butter yumminess!

Blessings friends!!
Tracey

One thought on “A Pandemic Epidemic

  1. Are you going to post the recipe for that frosting? Please please?All of us, except for my husband, got the flu vaccine this year. I think my kids still got the flu a few weeks ago, but it was a mild case. I think the vaccine helped it not be so severe. The flu is really bad this year. My pediatrian said she has had a lot of flu cases this year even with kids getting the shot.

Leave a Reply

