The Life of Pi

Sorry…I told you that my friend Rebecca and I were trying to see all the Academy Award nominated films and that we went and saw the Life of Pi but I neglected to give you my review. 

Just to recap…..
the movies nominated are: Lincoln, Life of Pi, Amor, Argo, Beasts of the Southern Wind, Django, Les Miserables, Silver Linings Playbook, Zero Dark Thirty

So far we have seen: Lincoln, Life of Pi, and Beasts of the Southern Wind

Life of Pi was good.  I liked it.  I don’t want to tell you anything that would spoil the movie.  But a general summary–Pi is a boy growing up in India at his father’s zoo.  The family decides to sell the zoo and relocate to Canada.  While the family and the animals are on a ship there is a big storm and Pi and the tiger end up in a life boat together.  The bulk of the movie is about how the tiger and Pi survive together in the middle of the ocean.  The one thing that I didn’t like about the movie was that the ending was ambiguous and left you with unanswered questions.  And I, being me, don’t like a movie or a book that leaves me with loose ends. 

As of now, ranking what I have already seen…

1.  Lincoln
2. Life of Pi
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.  Beasts of the Southern Wind—-this movie was so lousy that I have ranked it last, behind movies I haven’t even seen yet. 

I think we are going to have a problem seeing Amor.  We don’t get many independent foreign films here in the heart of Texas, so that may be one that we don’t get to see.  But, I think it will still be better than Beasts of the Southern Wind. 

Blessings friends,
Tracey

Leave a Reply

