what I have cooked lately

I have made several new recipes, from Pinterest, in the past week and wanted to share the results with you.  Most of them I tweak to better suit what I have on hand or what my family likes to eat. 

First up is Country Club Chicken from kayotic kitchen.  On this one I didn’t use the white wine, I subbed in chicken broth.  And I left out the apple.  The boys really liked this.  I was a little surprised how much they liked it.  It reminded me of spaghetti carbonara. 

Also from kayotic is Lazy Sunday Casserole  I didn’t have bell pepper or fennel so I just made this without it.  I used chicken brautwurst sausages.  Some changes I would make for next time:  I would add some salt to the potatoes before baking.  I would add some more veggies next time–maybe even a sweet potato for the little boy and the daddy.  I made homemade rolls to eat with this.  Everyone loved it.  I was a surprised by this too.  I knew the grown up guy would like it but I didn’t expect the boys to like it as much as they did.  This one is definitely a keeper. Oh!  And it is super, super easy.

Crock Pot Flank Steak is in the crock pot right now.  Planning to serve it with cilantro lime rice and tortillas.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.  It smells fabulous. 

Chili Relleno Casserole I made this Friday night and we really liked it.  I even had some for breakfast yesterday morning.  Very tasty.  However, the recipe calls for 3 cans of chiles.  I don’t know if my cans were just much smaller but I bought 4 cans and probably could have even used 1 more.  Just be aware that you might want to pick up an extra can or two just in case there aren’t as many chiles in the can as you need. 

Crunchy Black Bean Tacos  these were very good.  E didn’t eat them but I didn’t expect that he would the other two guys and I liked them though.  I only had 2 corn tortillas in the pantry though!! So I also used some flour tortillas I had in the pantry because I was not going to go to the store.  Both turned out good.  I mixed the sour cream and cheese in with the beans and spices then put a good scoop in the tortilla.  I liked it this way because everything kind of stuck together and it didn’t fall out all over the pan like I think it would if I had done the cheese seperate.  I served in with chopped lettuce and tomato and guacamole on top. 

And that’s what I’ve made this past week.  I hope you find something yummy to try.  This week I am not posting a menu plan because the Mr. is traveling all week so it is going to be sandwiches, leftovers, etc. this week. 

Blessings friends!
Tracey

Leave a Reply

