The old grey mare….

I feel that I should have something scintillating and/or entertaining to share with you.  But I just don’t….sorry to disappoint. 

Last week was my birthday and since then my body has apparently decided it is time to fall apart.  I spent all day last Tuesday sewing and Tuesday night I woke up at midnight with my right hand and forearm hurting so bad I thought it was going to fall off.  My bones have decided to develop pains when used.  So Wednesday, after sewing all day again, I rubbed my forearms, wrists and hands down with Icy Hot and took two Advil before going to bed—it’s what we arthritic grannies do at bedtime!Mmmm…I smelled sooooo good!  Who needs perfume when there’s Icy Hot?

Thursday the boys and I went to get our teeth cleaned.  It was at this appointment that I found out that two of my fillings, which are over 10 years old, had cracked and needed to be replaced.  And a crown, which is over 15 years old, was “getting leaky” (which is dentist speak for letting food get up in there) and also needed to be replaced. 

And did I mention the fractured tooth I had to have extracted 3 weeks ago?  Well, the dentist wanted to know if I was going to have an implant put in to replace it (the last molar on the bottom right).  I spoke to the business manager at the office about it and she gave me the news that after insurance my portion would be $2700.  Yes, you read that correctly–two THOUSAND and seven HUNDRED dollars!! For a tooth in the back of my mouth that no one, except my dentist, will EVER see!! I told Mr. G about this and he said “that’s crazy!! It’s not like it’s one of your front teeth.  Now THAT we’d have to replace.  Because if you ran around looking like a hillbilly that would reflect badly on ME” 
Yeah, he is soooooo funny.  Then when I told him about the two fillings and the crown I needed work on he said “Man! Let’s just get you dentures!”  Isn’t he hysterical?

Needless to say I will not be getting the implant to replace my missing molar.  However, I will be celebrating Dental Health Month by visiting my dentist every week this February. 

And, to put the icing on the month of February, I have an appointment to go and spend that “special time” with my OB/GYN.  Goodness, I just don’t think it can get any better around here!!!

My bloggy friend MarytheKay had this on her blog yesterday and it made me laugh so hard that I cried.  If you are a mom, you have to watch it.  I started playing the song this morning as I dropped the oldest off at jr high.  I hope it makes you laugh.

Blessings friends!!
Tracey

Leave a Reply

