Pardon me while I climb up on my soapbox

I subbed at E’s school today.  I have subbed many times before.  I have been teaching for about 18 years.  I am not a novice at this teacher thing.  I have dealt with my fair share of difficult children.  I am familiar with kids being overly talkative and trying to pull one over on the substitute.  I’m not new to this game.  However, the group of boys that I spent the day with……well, it’s a darn good thing that I am not their parent. 
I have to say that I am shocked by how defiant and disrespectful children are today.  (Yes, I am aware that makes me sound like a 90 year old granny).  Now, not every child in the class was a problem but the ones who were made me wish for the days when teachers still paddled students.  If I found out that my sons talked back to their teachers, were rude, ignored directions, and/or continued to misbehave after the teacher had already warned them, they would be in so much trouble they would need a shovel to dig their way out.   
I don’t know if parents are too busy/tired/lazy/disinterested or what to correct their children or if they just don’t want to have to parent.  I think we (parents) do kids a disservice when we allow them to misbehave.  It is a parent’s job to correct a child, teach them the correct way to behave, and hold them accountable.  Rules are necessary and kids have to be taught how to follow them.  That includes courtesy and respect. 

I could go on, and on, and on, and on…..but I won’t.  ‘Nuff said.
Blessings friends!
Tracey

One thought on “Pardon me while I climb up on my soapbox

Leave a Reply

