4th of July treasure hunting

I did not take one single picture of my kids this holiday.  I KNOW, I am likely an awful mom.  But you know every year I seem to get these smoky, dark pics instead of the great firework shots of the kids with sparklers, etc.  So this year I just didn’t even try. 
I do have some pictures of some things I made though!

First up, a little flag jello.,,

 
The blue layer has crushed pineapple.  The center layer is cream cheese, sour cream, and sugar.  The red layer has strawberries and the top is cool whip.  This picture really doesn’t even show how cute it came out.  BUT, I really didn’t care for the taste of the blue jello.  Ick!  We are definitely a red and green jello family.  šŸ™‚
 
Next, a red white and blue fruit salad….
 
Sliced strawberries, blueberries, bananas, and a little orange juice to keep the bananas from turning.

 
 
For these cupcakes, I used the new Wilton baking bits.  They are kind of like sprinkles but they actually melt into whatever you are baking so they don’t leave a crunchy bit behind.  These were nothing fancy, just a white cake mix (with an added cup of sour cream) and the Wilton bits. 
 
Somehow I didn’t get a pic of the cookies.  They also had the Wilton bits and then I melted some of the frosting that I made for the cupcakes and drizzled it over them and added regular red, white and blue sprinkles.  I cut them into sticks (about 1/2 inch wide and about 3 inches long) they were very good.  The recipe was from Pinterest and you can find it here.  I used an entire regular cake mix and then just doubled the rest of the ingredients.  It made a LOT of cookies!  But they all got nibbled up.  šŸ™‚
 
 
Then yesterday, we went treasure hunting!  I got the CUTEST things!!!
 

 
The round thing in the cart is going to live on my back porch and hold plants.  And I am in LOVE with my little wagon/wheelbarrow!! I have been wanting one to fill with flowers and add to my back yard.  I think I am going to put some plastic in the bottom to keep it from rusting out, layer some bricks on the bottom, and then set potted plants on the bricks.   I am so excited about this!!
 
 
And these two little cuties are actually bird feeders.  I am going to hang them in the trees for decoration.  I don’t know if I am actually going to fill them with bird seed or not.  šŸ™‚  But I sure do think they are cute.  šŸ™‚
Up tomorrow, some pics of newly organized areas.  šŸ™‚
 
Blessings friends!
Tracey
 
Leave a Reply

