Chicken parm and apple pie

I’ve never made chicken parm before.   Out of the blue, C asked me if I would make it for supper.    I looked over some recipes and then set out on my own.. 
Mr. G got me the pre-cut thin sliced chicken breasts so I didn’t have to pound them flat.  What a time saver! 
I set up two pie plates, one with a beaten egg and the other with some seasoned panko crumbs and a bit of flour (about a TBS).  Set your pie plates near the stove so that you can coat your chicken and put them right into the pan.  Heat a couple of TBS of olive oil in your pan.  Season each piece of chicken with salt and pepper then dip in egg then coat with bread crumbs.  Put in the pan and brown on both sides.  do this for each piece of chicken.  Remember you are not cooking the chicken through–you are just getting the crust crisp and brown.
In a baking dish, pour a layer of spaghetti sauce (I used a jar of my homemade stuff).  you just need enough to coat the bottom of your pan.  As you take your chicken out of the frying pan, place them in the baking pan. Once all your chicken in in your baking pan pour some more of your sauce on top to cover.  Bake in the oven at 350.  This is when your chicken is going to cook through.  Bake for about 15 minutes, then sprinkle your remaining bread crumbs on top.  Bake another 10 minutes.  Then add shredded mozzarella on top.  Leave in the oven long enough for the cheese to get melted and bubbly.  I served it with some fettuccine noodles and broccoli.  A hit with all!

Apple Pie 

I got this one from the King Arthur website.  The crust is really tasty.  But, my filling looked a lot wetter then the picture on the website.  I will need to keep working on this to get the filling right.  I used green apples.  Maybe I need a different kind of apple. 

here’s the website

Blessings friends,
Tracey

Leave a Reply

