The IDEA vs. the REALITY

The idea is that as I wash clothes, I put the items that need to be ironed into a basket in my closet.  Once I get 3 or 4 items in the basket, I will iron them.  This is a good idea because (a) I am not going to pull out the ironing board and all the other junk I need to iron for one shirt and (b) if I do my ironing when there are just a few things to be done, it doesn’t take long and is not such a burden. 
Great idea huh?

Here’s the reality….

 
 
I’m a bit over the 3 or 4 item idea, as you can see.  And this is what happens every time.  I always start out with good intentions but I seem to let this basket get to overflowing before I actually do anything about it.  I am not exaggerating when I tell you that I have been without summer pants for over a month.  Yes, every pair of capri and crop pants I own is in this basket and has been for over a month (probably closer to two months now).  It’s a good thing that I have a lot of maxi dresses and that I don’t have to get dressed for anything that calls for more than yoga pants on most days. 
Anyway, this was one of the projects on my list that I needed to get done before the kids went back to school. 
 
A little over an hour later, this is what it looked like….
 
 
 
2 shirts for the boys, 4 shirts for me and 12 pairs of pants.  It’s like I have a whole new wardrobe in my closet!  Now, 18 items is a lot to iron but it is not the most I’ve ever had piled up but it also is not the 3 or 4 I aim for in this basket. 
 
 
So, if you are keeping count, that is 3 projects that I have gotten crossed off my list.  Yay!!!!
 
Blessings friends,
Tracey

Leave a Reply

