I really, really love you BUUUUUT…..

Yesterday I was up at 1:45 a.m.  I woke up with a headache.  I got up and took some medicine and went back to bed.  And I couldn’t go back to sleep….so after an hour I decided to get up. 
I poked around on Pinterest for a while and went back to bed just before 4.  Where I stayed for 45 minutes and couldn’t go back to sleep. 
At 4:45, I decided that 2 and a half hours was all the sleep I was going to get and I might as well get up and start my day.  Which is what I did.
By 9:00 I had cleaned my entire house, washed and replaced the sheets on all the beds, put supper in the crock pot, worked out and showered.  By this time I figured that even if I did nothing else the rest of the day it was OK because I had already put in a full day’s work. 
At this time the kids were in E’s room playing a card game so I thought “hmmm, maybe I’ll lay down on the sofa and take a little nap.”  So I got cozy on the sofa and….here come the boys.  (sigh) They wanted to watch some things they had on the DVR.  OK, I can work with that.  They watch TV and I’ll doze for a little bit.  Except they talk–LOUD–and one of them can’t since still so my sofa feels like the inside of a popcorn popper. 
Foiled again!  All right, if I wasn’t going to get a nap I might as well get something else done so I took everything out of the fridge, washed all the shelves, and reorganized in preparation for the back to school grocery needs.  By this time the kids’ were done watching their shows and had headed to their separate rooms. 
Nap time!!!
I get on my cozy sofa, get my little pillow just so, close my eyes and

“I’M GOING TO GET MY DRINK!!”  (why is this child yelling?)

(noises from the kitchen that sound nothing like getting a drink)
“Son, what are you doing?”

silence

“E! What are you doing? “

“I TOLD YOU I’M GETTING MY DRINK!”

“Then why are you in the cookie jar?”  Even from the sofa with my eyes closed I know what this kid is doing.

“I’M JUST GETTING THE LAST CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE!” 

“Fine, get it and go play legos.  I’m really tired because I didn’t get any sleep last and just need a little nap.”

“OK, MOM!”  (goes back to his room)

Just starting to doze off……

“MOM!  THERE IS THIS NEW GAME AND IT blah, blah, blah, blah, blah” (this is the point in the conversation that I start to hear the Charlie Brown teacher voice.)  “SO CAN I GET IT?!?!?”

“I don’t know, we’ll see.  Now, let me take a little nap”

“OK!”
“I’VE GOT TO GO TO THE BATHROOM!!”  (I really don’t need the minute by minute report on what he is doing)

“MOM!!! THE FUNNIEST THING HAPPENED ON THIS SHOW…blah, blah, blah, blah blah”
(I think I might cry…or scream…or my head might explode.  Is a 30  minute nap too much to ask?)
“ISN’T THAT FUNNY?!?!?!?”

“hmm…yeah, I’ll have to see it later.  I’m going to take a little nap now.  Please go play in your room and give me a little time OK?”

“OK MOM!!!”

“HEY MOM!!!! WHAT TIME ARE WE GOING TO MEET MY NEW TEACHER?!?!? DO YOU THINK I WILL HAVE ANY FRIENDS IN MY CLASS?”

I’m going to cry….pray for me friends!

Blessings,
Tracey

Leave a Reply

