Pizza muffins

Neither of my kids are fans of sandwiches.  Which completely boggles their father because he could eat a sandwich every day and be perfectly happy.   My kids, not so much.  Which makes packing lunches and buying items for lunch an exercise in creativity.  At the elementary school it was especially challenging because there was no access to a microwave and we have had zero luck with thermoses in our house.
This year though, E can use a microwave at his new school, which opens up a whole realm of additional possibilities.
I mentioned before the “corn dog muffins” that I made on Sunday.  Both the boys like these and they take less then a minute in the microwave to warm up.
Today I made pizza muffins.  I figured that after 2 days they were probably ready to have something different in the lunch boxes.

I got the recipe here...PIZZA MUFFIN RECIPE

Pepperoni Pizza Muffins

2½ cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
1 teaspoon dried basil leaves
½ teaspoon dried oregano
1 tablespoon sugar
1 cup mini pepperoni 
1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, divided
3 green onions, finely chopped
1/4 cup canola oil
1 large egg, beaten
1½ cups buttermilk

Preheat oven to 375ºF.


Line two standard size muffin pans with liners or spray with cooking spray (I usually do this…less waste that way). Mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, garlic powder, basil, oregano and sugar in a large bowl. Fold in green onions, pepperoni and one cup cheese. In a medium bowl, combine egg and oil and then whisk in buttermilk. Add buttermilk mixture to the mixture and stir until combined. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups about half full. Sprinkle tops of muffins with remaining cheese. 

Bake at 375ºF for 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.


After muffins cool, individually wrap in plastic and freeze in a large container  Makes 20 muffins.


The above is a copy of the original recipe from “I should be mopping the floor”.  I made a few changes. 
1) I didn’t have any green onions (and if I had I probably would have left them out since my youngest would likely have freaked out).  I put in a tsp of onion powder instead.  
2)  I only had regular pepperoni so i just cut a bunch of those up in to sixths and tossed them in.  
3) I used mozzarella instead of cheddar cheese.  
4) I purposely choose my muffin pan that makes large muffins, so I only had 12 out of this batch.  And I went ahead and used cupcake liners–mainly because my corn dog muffins stuck to the pan on Sunday even though I had sprayed the doololly out of it and I just didn’t want to clean up another messed up muffin tin.

These are tasty.  I tried one after they came out of the oven.  I think the boys will really like them.  Next time I make them I think I will add a bit more salt then the recipe, maybe bump it up to a full teaspoon.  Also, I think these would also be great with crumbled Italian sausage in addition to or in place of the pepperoni.  I think I will add some into the next batch I make.  


And on a related note, I am LOVING my Sunday lunch prep!!!  It is making lunch packing so, so easy and fast!  Everything is already washed, cut and bagged so all I have to do is grab the stuff out of the fridge and toss it into the lunch boxes.  Awesome!!!!   The best thing I’ve done in a long time!!!

Blessings friends!
Tracey
Leave a Reply

