Results and updates

The fair was kind of a disappointment all the way around last night.  

1st: the oldest kid told me that he has “outgrown” the fair and it is “kinda lame.”  

2nd: the youngest said that the fair “just wasn’t good this year”

3rd:  (related to the comment by the youngest) it really wasn’t good this year.  Half the food booths that are there every year, weren’t there this year.  Mr. G couldn’t even get his favorite German sausage sandwich that he gets every single year and has  for over 15 years.  (he was really disappointed).  I didn’t get my fave: roasted corn.  You’ve not tasted corn on the cob until you have one that has been roasted in the shuck and handed to you, dripping with butter, hot out of the fire.  

4th: no, first place ribbons for any of my cakes this year.  Or, as my oldest pointed out to me, “no, first, second, OR third place ribbons”  Here’s the results

Image

 

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

E’s creation got 6th place.  He was OK with that—he and his brother thought it was yummy.  I thought it was waaay to sweet and gooey and didn’t care for it.  (of course, I didn’t share that opinion with him!)

Chocolate sheet, coconut, and pumpkin each got 4th place.  Choc sheet I’ve made before.  However, this time I baked it on a jelly roll pan instead of a 9×13.  I didn’t like it as much.  It was too thin and much drier then when I’ve made it before.  It was just OK to me this time.  The coconut is very yummy.  But I would leave off the frosting.  I only frosted it because it was a requirement of the fair rules but the icing was really gilding the lily on this one.  The pumpkin was YUM!  The cinnamon cream cheese frosting was the perfect pairing with it.  So moist!  I really liked this one alot.  This was one of the Mr.’s faves.

The chocolate layer with peanut butter frosting didn’t even place.  The cake was really, really moist, but I agree with the judges.  Something about it just was off.  I didn’t care for it.  But, it was Mr. G’s fave.  He said the pumpkin and this one were the two he liked best, but if he had to pick one it would be the peanut butter.  Everyone has different taste!

Tomorrow is bread but it’s just not going to happen for me.  I started baking today and my biscuits overcooked.  Then my yeast coffee cake didn’t rise.  I took that as a sign that I should give up on this one.  It’s OK.  I’ve got a dozen other things that I need to get done anyway.  

I’m still planning to enter cookies on Friday.  I’ve already got all the dough made.  I just have to bake it up on Thursday evening.  However, Thursday is when I start my next subbing assignment and this one lasts through the end of the month.  If it is a bad day Thursday, that cookie dough may just stay in my freezer!

Blessings friends,

Tracey

Leave a Reply

