How to raise a bookworm

I love books. I have loved books as far back as I can remember.  When I was in second grade I remember reading every Newberry Medal winner I could get my hands on.  That year Strawberry Girl was my favorite.  When I was growing up I had so many favorite books.  Books that I have read more times than I can remember, even long past childhood.  Some of my favorites were/are:

Little Women

The Little House series

Nancy Drew

Trixie Belden 

Charlotte’s Web

Stuart Little

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator

I can still read any of these books and still love them and think that they are just as wonderful.  Before I had kids, I read many of these to my kids in my classroom.  Once I had kids, I loved reading these books to them and sharing my favorite books—-well, some of them—my boys never had any interest in Nancy Drew, Little House, or Little Women.  

As a teacher I read the Harry Potter books long before my boys were even reading much less of an age to read them.  But once C was old enough we read the first one together and he was hooked.  This year I am starting to see E begin to catch the reading bug.  I am so happy to see this.  Reading has always brought me such enjoyment and I hope my boys will love it the way I do.  C already does.  He is a voracious reader.  E has been more reluctant so seeing him get excited about books makes me excited.  

Other books I love and recommend (some suitable for kids, some not)

The Harry Potter books

The Red Pyramid series by Rick Riordan

Beauty by Susan Wilson

The Mitford Series by Jan Karon

The Chicagoland Vampire series by Chole Neill

Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah

Series that I like (but aren’t necessarily the greatest writing OR have jumped the shark at some point)

The Goldy Bear series by Diane Mott Davidson

The Hannah Swenson series by Joanne Fluke

The Kay Scarpetta series by Patricia Cornwell

Some of my best memories include books.  As a middle school/high schooler, I remember walking to the public library during the summer and checking out as many books as I could carry home.  

One of the most relaxing days ever was during spring break (before I had kids) I had cleaned the whole house already.  The weather was beautiful.  There was a delightful breeze coming through the windows.  And I spent the entire day enjoying the breeze and reading Jurassic Park.  What a nice way to spend the day.  

Go to a book store and look around.  Get on Amazon and browse.  And make a Wish List.  Pin all the books that you are interested—because you won’t remember what the titles are and then you can access the wish list later and get the books from the library or book store.  The wish list is fantastic!   

And if you are trying to get your kids hooked on books browsing Amazon provides LOTS of ideas!  Some books that I have found the E likes (and have gotten him interested in reading)

The Lunch Lady series (they look a lot like comic strips)  

The Time Warp Trio series

The Magic Treehouse series

Geronimo Stilton series

Hank the Cowdog series

My boys, and I, love series books.  We like developing “relationships” with the characters, following along, and seeing what happens to them.  The series above are ones that my boys (and particularly the youngest who was/is my reluctant reader) love to read.  I make great use of Amazon to search for books in the series he is interested and then I jump over to our public library site and request the books.  This week he has finished 2 Lunch Lady books and we are going to pick up 3 more in the series tomorrow.  Check out a bunch of different books from different authors and series and genres and let your kids read them and discover what they like.  Then once you know what they like—-jump on it!!! Buy, check out, borrow, whatever but find the books that get them interested.  That’s how you will raise a book worm.  🙂

Blessings friends!

Tracey

Leave a Reply

