Parenting is NOT for the weak

This parenting gig is tough.  

You know when they are little is is all the things that they need.  The getting up in the middle of the night.  The bottles, the diapers, the crying.  I remember when C was about 3 months old, sitting up in the middle of the night feeding him and just crying and praying “God, please, please, please make this baby sleep through the night.  I am so tired.”

But then they get bigger and they become mobile.  And then that is tough.  You have to have your eyes on them all the time.  They can get into, onto, and around everything.  One time I was in the kitchen loading the dishwasher, I turned around and E had climbed up on top of the air hockey table dancing around.  

And then they get even bigger and they start school.  And you feel like time is going by so fast and your baby is off to kindergarten and your crying in the parking lot of the school.  Not that I ever did that, I’ve just heard about people doing that.  

And then they get even older and you start worrying about what the world is doing to them.  And you are working on making sure that they are developing into responsible, dependable, honest people.  And you are so proud you want to bust when they make a good choice and you are so devastated when they make a bad one.  

Tonight I was trying to explain to my youngest why and how important honesty is and the consequences of not being honest—all the time—even when being honest has consequences.  Which then led into a discussion of defiance and of how parenting is a job.  And that my job is to make sure that he grows into that honest, dependable, responsible man.  

How much of this did he get?  Who knows?  Your guess is is a good as mine.  I am sure over the next day, week, month, I will see if this took root or not.  In the meantime, I’ll just keep praying that God will help me (and his daddy) to guide him and teach him (and his brother) to make wise decisions and to choose the narrow path, despite the difficulties that choice may cause.  

And maybe I’ll watch some trashy TV after he goes to bed to lighten my mood.  🙂

Blessings friends,

Tracey

Leave a Reply

