Menu planning

Sorry, I’m very bad at posting this every week.   I am still planning my menus every week just not putting them up on here.

This week we are having:

Veggie lasagna before you click on this link I have to explain something.  The link is for eggplant pizzas.  Which look great and I will eventually make.  But, I knew that there was NO way that E was going to eat this.  So, what I did instead was slice a zucchini and an eggplant on the mandoline so that the slices were super thin.  Then I alternated layers of the veggies with pasta sauce (homemade that I had in the freezer) and mozzarella.  Fingers crossed that E won’t notice that he’s eating veggies.  We’ll see…

Chicken and squash casserole  I’ve never made this one before.  I found this on pinterest and thought I would give it a try.  Mr. G loves squash so I know he will like it.  The boys are not crazy about squash so they might not be as excited about this.

Pasta Fagioli soup this is my favorite, favorite soup at Olive Garden.  I have made this before and it does come out really good.  You can make it in the crockpot too.

Pepper steak  this one is a meal that you can make ahead and freeze plus it is a crock pot meal which I always love.

Chile relleno casserole this one is yummy.  It is a meatless meal.  I’ve made it before for guests and everyone loved it.

Homemade spaghetti-o’s  this one is new.  I am making it to send to school for lunch with E.

Lunch prep has gone sooooo well! I can’t even tell you how much better and easier it is to pack lunches when I prep all the stuff for lunches ahead of time.  I have made things like PB and J muffins, pizza muffins, mac and cheese, and supper leftovers.  I pack everything up into individual servings for the week.  I also bag up veggies and crunchy snacks like goldfish, pretzels, cheez its, etc.  For treats I have made rice krispie treats (which I cut up and bagged individually), pudding and jello (which I poured into individual servings), and fruit snacks.  I put all the individual servings into my baskets in the fridge and then I just reach in and grab what I need and throw it in the lunch box.  Packing lunch takes about 1 minute now and I no longer dread it.  Absolutely the best thing I have done for myself.  I highly recommend it.

If you need any ideas for lunch planning, you can check out my kid’s lunches pinterest board

Blessings friends,

Tracey

Leave a Reply

