It’s a SNOW day!!!

Now if you live in the northern part of the US, you are probably going to get a chuckle out of this post.  But, if you live in the south, you will relate.  Here in our part of Texas we get snow maybe once a year.  So it is a BIG deal.  Ice is a BIG deal here too.  And because we had both last night, school was cancelled today.  My kids were soooooo excited.  Truth to tell, we had maybe 1/4 of an inch of snow.  The main problem was the icy roads.  If the roads are icy the buses can’t run, and if the buses can’t run, then no school.  Woo HOO!!!

The boys and I spent the day watching movies—crazy Mr. G went to work.  We stayed home in our comfy clothes and ate grilled cheese sandwiches and chicken noodle soup for lunch.  I think we had the waaaay better end of the deal!

ImageImageImageImage

He reminds me of the little kid from “A Christmas Story” in these pics.  I kept folding his hat up and it kept falling back down over his eyes.  Image

This was the only snow man he could make.  As you can see, from the grass poking through the snow, there really wasn’t that much snow and it was very icy and powdery so it really didn’t “mold.”    While I had the camera out, and while I was making breakfast for supper, I took some pics of the Christmas decor in the kitchen.Image

I put these past Christmas pics in my kitchen window every year.  It makes me smile to see my babies “of Christmas past.”ImageThese are my two Jim Shore angels.  I keep them in the kitchen year round, but at Christmas they sit in the window with my pictures.ImageThis is the top of the china hutch.  The little green foil tree we got several years ago at a local florist shop.  The ornaments on it are vintage metal Christmas balls that I found at an estate sale a couple of years ago.  The scrappy garland is one that I made last year or the year before and I added the ceramic gingerbread men that I made a couple of years ago.  ImageAnother scrappy garland along with the candy train my mom gave me (it has little lights on it but they are too tiny to see in the pic) and the tree I also made a couple of years ago when I was still going to pottery class.      I forgot to take a pic of the scrappy garland over the sink window.  The gingerbread men on that one have “bites” missing from them.  LOL.  I’ll have to post a pic of those for you later.Image

Here’s the tree in our kitchen.  It is covered in “sugared” fruits, copper cookie cutters and these cute little guys

ImageImageImageImage

Image

The tree skirt is this cute little quilt that I found at a garage sale.  It is the perfect size for this tree.

Image

It know this looks a little blurry but it was the only way I could take it so that you cold see the lights on the tree.

And finally, since we are looking around the kitchen, look what Jack did today!

ImageImageImage

Blessings!

Tracey

One thought on “It’s a SNOW day!!!

Leave a Reply

