The last hurrah

The last month has been a non-stop sugar buffet around here.  Candy, cookies, pies, cakes, and more.  Sugar, sugar, sugar.  And now it is time to stop.  You know you’ve had too much junk when you start dreaming of veggies, and fresh fruit and salads.  But today, I had to fulfill a promise to my youngest before I put us all on a sugar free diet.  I had pinned a recipe for a giant cinnamon roll a few weeks back.  I had told E that we would make it.  And we hadn’t, so I had to get it done today.  Here is the link to the original recipe.  One tip for rising your dough:  bring a pot of water to boil as you are prepping your dough.  Once you have it covered and ready to rise, place the dough in the oven and put the pot of boiling water in the oven along with it.  Shut the oven door and leave it shut for at least an hour.  Then check your dough.  After an hour it should have risen fully and be ready to bake.  If your dough needs two risings you can do this both times.  

Image      This is the dough in the oven after rising and ready for baking.    Image      This is after baking.  After the roll had been in the oven for about 20 minutes, I laid a piece of foil over it to prevent it from over browning.  I then continued to bake it for another 15 minutes.  Image   This is after frosting.  I had leftover frosting from Christmas cookies in the fridge, so I just used it.  I warmed the frosting in the microwave for about 30 seconds and then drizzled it over the roll.  Image   Here it is on a plate.  Yes, we are still using my Christmas plates.  I’m going to try and get them put up tomorrow.  This was a HIT with all three of my guys.  They LOVED it!!! I guess it was a good choice for their final sugar binge.  🙂

Gotta run, Downton Abbey’s on!!!!

Blessings friends,

Tracey

Leave a Reply

